← Back to all announcements

FHS faculty & staff announced as inaugural winners of the Principal's Teaching and Learning Awards

  • Published Wed Dec 16th 2015

    Principal Daniel Woolf announced today the inaugural winners of the Principal’s Teaching and Learning Awards.

    The six awards recognize individuals and teams who have shown exceptional innovation and leadership in teaching and learning on campus. The awards are administered by the Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL).

    “I commend each of the recipients of this year’s awards. They are a dedicated group of faculty and staff who have shown a deep commitment to enhancing the student learning experience at Queen’s,” says Principal Woolf. “There is a great deal of work happening across campus to foster excellence in teaching and learning and I am delighted that these awards can help raise the profile of this initiative.”

    Two of the six awards were given to Faculty of Health Sciences faculty and staff members. Each of the awards celebrates a different aspect of teaching and learning, such as curriculum development and international education.

    “The awards aim to celebrate excellence in strategic areas of teaching and learning at Queen’s and to recognize the faculty and staff members who are making important contributions to that excellence,” says Peter Wolf, Associate Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning) and Director of the CTL. “I would like to extend my congratulations to all of this year’s winners and to thank everyone who took the time to nominate someone for the awards.”

    Formal presentation of the awards will take place at the Teaching Awards Reception to be held in the Agnes Etherington Art Centre on January 27, 2016.

    The Faculty of Health Sciences winners are:

    Curriculum Development Award
    (Sponsored by Centre for Teaching and Learning)

    This following team developed a new curriculum for the Undergraduate School of Medicine’s M.D. program. Working alongside students and researchers, the team developed an innovative new curricular plan for the four-year program, introducing students to evidence-based medicine and research.

    Dr. Heather Murray, Department of Emergency Medicine
    Dr. Melanie Walker, Division of Cancer Care and Epidemiology
    Dr. Linda Levesque, Centre for Health Services and Policy Research
    Ms. Sheila Pinchin, School of Medicine
    Ms. Suzanne Maranda, Bracken Library
    Ms. Sandra Halliday, Bracken Library 

    Educational Leadership Award
    (Sponsored and coordinated by the Centre for Teaching and Learning)

    Dr. Tony Sanfilippo, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education: Dr. Sanfilippo led the effort to recreate the Undergraduate Medical Program’s curriculum, creating a competency-based program that trains students not just to be physicians, but advocates, scholars and collaborators.

    *The full story from the Queen's Gazette can be found here.