← Back to all announcements

Denis Bourguignon appointed CFO of the Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Published Wed Jun 10th 2015

    Denis Bourguignon appointed Chief Financial Officer, Faculty of Health Sciences

    Denis Bourguignon

    Dean Richard Reznick is pleased to announce the appointment of Denis Bourguignon, MBA, CPA, CGA, as Chief Financial and Administration Officer (CFAO) for the Faculty of Health Sciences.  

    Mr. Denis Bourguignon has a Bachelor of Commerce, Honours Accounting from the University of Ottawa, a Masters of Business Administration from Queen’s University and has been a professional accountant for over 15 years.

    Mr. Bourguignon began his career at the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (PIPSC) in 1995 and served in various financial and senior management roles culminating in his appointment as CFO of the organization in 2010. PIPSC is the largest union of public service professionals in Canada, serving 55,000 members from 40 different occupational groups including: doctors, nurses, researchers and scientists. The organization has annual revenues of $43 million, assets in excess of $100 million and 160 employees working in seven offices across Canada. 

    Mr. Bourguignon has played an active role of a number of boards and committees. He sat on the Board of Directors of the CGA Ontario (Ottawa Chapter) for seven years and The Foundation for the Study of Processes of Government in Canada Board of Directors for five years. Mr. Bourguignon was the recipient of the CGA Ontario Distinguished Service Award in 2006 and the CGA Ottawa Chapter Distinguished Award in 2009.

    Interestingly, while pursuing his post-secondary education, Mr. Bourguignon worked part-time at the Ottawa General Hospital as an S.P.D. Attendant, distributing clean linens and supplies to the floors, transporting patients and sterilizing surgical instruments.

    Dean Reznick welcomes Mr. Bourguignon to the position and would like to thank Ms. Joan Lee for assuming the role as Interim CFO following the retirement of David Edgar.