← Back to all announcements

Three new chairs take their seats

  • Published Thu Jan 8th 2015

    Three brand new chair positions in the Faculty of Health Sciences have been filled by esteemed leaders in the fields of health policy, surgery and ophthalmology.

    Michael Green (Public Health Sciences, Family Medicine) has been appointed the Clinical Teachers’ Association of Queen’s Chair in Applied Health Economics/Health Policy, John Rudan (Surgery) is the Britton Smith Chair in Surgery and Martin ten Hove (Ophthamology) is the Edna and Ernie Johnson Chair in Ophthamology.

    For Dr. Green, the funds from this chair will support the development of new projects and engaging other clinical teachers in his area of research.

    “I’m thrilled to have this opportunity to help increase the capacity for applied health services and policy research here at Queen’s,” says Dr. Green. “I plan to build on my work examining the impact of new models of funding and organizing primary care on both cost and outcomes, as well as the differential impact of these changes for specific population groups including Aboriginal peoples.”

    Dr. Green has been a faculty member at Queen’s since 1995. He has also served as a consultant for both the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and Health Canada.

    Dr. Rudan (Artsci’76, Meds’81) is currently serving his second term as head of the Department of Surgery. “The generosity of this gift facilitates our ability to translate great science into surgical practise to benefit our patients,” says Dr. Rudan.

    Dr. Rudan was a leader in the creation of the Clinical Mechanics Group, now known as the Human Mobility Research Centre (HMRC), at Queen's. He has either led or co-investigated studies involving more than $9 million in funding from sources including the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

    He has served as the vice-chair of the orthopaedics oral examination committee for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and as vice-president and president of the Clinical Teachers’ Association at Queen's.

    Dr. ten Hove (Meds’89) is an associate professor and head of the Department of Ophthalmology.

    “Being appointed the first recipient of the Edna and Ernie Johnson Chair in Ophthalmology is a true honour,” says Dr. ten Hove. “As a well-respected Department of Ophthalmology for more than 50 years, we are very proud of this named chair and will use it to establish ourselves as a national leader in advancing vision science and vision care.”

    Dr. ten Hove is an active researcher in the area of the neural mechanisms underlying visual attention and has served on the examination committee of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and on the Royal College’s specialty committee for ophthalmology.